top of page


District Standardized Testing


Students in grades 9 and 10 are required to take the New Jersey Student Learning Assessment (NJSLA). The NJSLA assesses English Language Arts (ELA)/Literacy and end of course Mathematics in either Algebra I, Geometry or Algebra II and include the following components.

Performance Task in ELA/Literacy and Mathematics.

All students will take this summative test toward the end of the school year to demonstrate their knowledge.

In ELA/Literacy, this will involve analyzing literature and a narrative writing task. Students will read texts and

write several pieces to demonstrate they can read and understand sufficiently complex texts independently; write effectively when using and analyzing sources; and build and communicate knowledge by integrating, comparing and synthesizing ideas.

In Mathematics, students will be asked to solve problems involving the key knowledge and skills for their grade level (as identified by the New Jersey Student Learning Standards), express mathematical reasoning and construct a mathematical argument, and apply concepts to solve model real-world problems.


Students in Grade 11 are required to take New Jersey Student Learning Assessment – Science (NJSLA-S). This assessment is a comprehensive science assessment aligned to the state’s new Science Standards.2019 administration will be considered a baseline year. The administration will be computer-based through the PEARSON platform.

ACCESS Testing for English Language Learners

Students in grades 9-12, who are Limited English Language Learners (ELLs) also take the ACCESS (Accessing Comprehension and Communication in English State to State for English Language Learners) test for ELLs.


Student Assessments

The NJDOE has implemented New Jersey Student Learning Assessments (NJSLA) in English Language Arts (ELA)/Literacy, Mathematics and Science. The NJSLA assessment system will be comprised of a coherent set of diagnostics, informative, and summative assessment components in English Language Arts (ELA)/Literacy and Mathematics for Grades 3 through High School and Science for grades 5, 8 and 11.


The College Board national testing program includes the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and the Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT I and SAT II). Students in 10th grade and 11th grade can take the PSAT in house. Registration for the SAT may be completed online at and for the ACT at

bottom of page